4.The Girl In The Spider’s Web, David Lagercrantz 


Swedish title : Det Som inte Dödar Oss

Literally translation: That Which Does Not Kill Us”

English publication: 27 August 2015 UK,  1 September 2015 USA

Product description:

A genius hacker who has always been an outsider. A journalist with a penchant for danger. She is Lisbeth Salander, the girl with the dragon tattoo. He is Mikael Blomkvist, crusading editor of Millennium. One night, Blomkvist receives a call from a source who claims to have been given information vital to the United States by a young female hacker. Blomkvist, always on the lookout for a story, reaches out to Salander for help. She, as usual, has plans of her own. Together they are drawn into a ruthless underworld of spies, cybercriminals, and government operatives—some willing to kill to protect their secrets.


Review 

I’ve read this book a few months ago. I’m a huge fan of Stieg Larsson and when David Lagercrantz published the fourth book of the Millennium series, I knew that I have to read it. Mostly because I was curious if he will go with the story on the same path as Stieg did. 
And he didn’t disappoint me entirely. He finally showed us who is Lisbeth sister, Camilla. An evil woman who would do anything for power, money and to revenge her father ‘s death. The story is very good with complex characters. 
But what made me feel that the book is somehow incomplete was the fact that it wasn’t violently how Stieg has accustomed us. It does have its parts but there aren’t very detailed as Stieg used to do it. On the other hand, I was reading a book which wasn’t written by the Stieg and I totally understand that David had to put his own fingerprint on it. 

The other thing that made me feel disappointment was the fact that he made Lisbeth look like a different person. She is babysitting which is quite awkward if you ask me, he left us thinking about her as a soft person, not the person that Larsson described so well, the young girl with trust issue, temperamental problems, strange look but with an unbeatable brain. 

Overall it is an awesome book, which deserves money spent on it and the time. 

I recommend it to everyone. But first, read the first three books from the trilogy. It won’t be a waste of time! I promise
1. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo 

2. The Girl Who Played With Fire 

  1. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornest’s Nest

Rate: 7.5/10

The end!

I hope you liked my review and you will come back for the next ones!

Love, 

Giorgiana

Don’t forget to follow me on instagram at @awesomeBooksToday

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

