#1 The Ice Princess, Camilla Lackberg

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Swedish titleIsprinsessan

Swedish publication: 2003

English publication : April 1, 2008

Product description :

Returning to her hometown of Fjallbacka after the funeral of her parents, writer Erica Falck finds a community on the brink of tragedy. The death of her childhood friend, Alex, is just the beginning. Her wrists slashed, her body frozen in an ice-cold bath, it seems that she has taken her own life.

Erica conceives a book about the beautiful but remote Alex, one that will answer questions about their own shared past. While her interest grows into an obsession, local detective Patrik Hedstrom is following his own suspicions about the case. But it is only when they start working together that the truth begins to emerge about a small town with a deeply disturbing past.

Review

After I read the Millennium trilogy by Stieg Larsson I start reading Camilla Lackberg. Obviously, I start with her first book, The Ice Princess which made me fall in love with Camilla’s work. I heard all kind of things that her books aren’t that good or at least the first ones, but I do not share that idea. I find her books between the best I’ve ever read. I’ve read this one translated in Romanian( as this is my first language) but almost all the others were in English. 

img_7276

I love the fact that she gives all sort of clues which makes us think that the killer is that person, and 30 pages apart we will change our minds. This way she taught me how to see all the clues and where to focus my mind. She made me realize that even the slightest thing which may feel unimportant, in fact, is something that will change the course of the things. 

Camilla has several books written, crime books, children, and cookery also. From the crime category, she has 9 books written, and a few short stories also. 

The Ice Princess is the first book from Erika Falck and Patrick Hedström series.

The story begins with Erika moving back to Fjällbacka to take care of her parent’s house who recently died in a car accident. During her stay in her home town, her childhood friend, Alexandra was found dead in her home in a bathtub with both wrists cut.

Knowing that Erika works as a writer, Alexandra’s parents ask her to write her daughter’s story. During her search, Erika finds few things that will make her believe that Alexandra did not take her life but was murdered. With Patrick Hedström’s help, she will find unravel the truth about the missing son of a millionaire back in 1977 and finds her friend’s killer. 

You have to read this book. Being the first book she ever wrote as a crime story is very good. Of course that with every book she has improved her skills and with every next book she gives us a better and better and better story. 

I recommend this book to everyone who wants to enjoy a well and easy crime book. 

Rate:9/10

The end!

I hope you liked my review and you will come back for the next ones!

Love, 

Giorgiana

Don’t forget to follow me on instagram at @awesomeBooksToday

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

