#3 The Stonecutter, Camilla Lackberg

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Swedish TitleStenhuggaren

Publication date : 2005

English Publication: 2008

Product Details: 

The third psychological thriller from No 1 bestselling Swedish crime sensation Camilla Läckberg. Irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

The remote resort of Fjllbacka has seen its share of tragedy, though perhaps none worse than that of the little girl found in a fisherman’s net. But this was no accidental drowning

Local detective Patrik Hedstrm has just become a father. It is his grim task to discover who could be behind the murder of a child both he and his partner Erica knew well.

What he does not know is how the case will reach into the dark heart of Fjllbacka and tear aside its idyllic faade, perhaps forever.

Review:

 Welcome to the third’s book from The Fjallbacka series written by the lovely Camilla Lackberg. 

As you will see from now on, Camilla has written this book as a constant shift between past and present. 

The present story begins with the discovery of a child’s dead body by a lobsterman. When Patrick Hedstrom arrives at the wharf where this has been found, he realizes that he knows who the dead girl is. Her mother is a friend of his girlfriend. When the coroner does the autopsy, he discovers that the girl was drowned in bath water, not sea water. He also found another strange substance in her lungs and stomach. 

Patrick and Erika have recently become parents and the murder of the little girl had a strong impact on them. Patrick had to fight with sleepless nights and Erika suffers a post-partum depression. 

The past story is described between 1923 and 1962. The protagonists are Agnes, a 19-years-old beautiful lady, and Anders, an employee on her father’s granite quarry. Agnes, a spoiled girl decided that she wants the young man just for some fun time and that she would do whatever it takes to have him. The result of their love story will be an unwanted pregnancy. And this is how their life will change once and forever. 

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Back in present time, each living person from Fjallbacka is affected by Sara’s death. In this book, Camilla writes about a few families as damaged, dealing with some monsters from the past. I just love how she makes the connection between the past and the present story. 

She became a master with each page she wrote. Once again the characters are well contoured, finding out new things about each of them. At the end of the book, there is a new colleague on the police station who will replace Ernst, their troubled colleague. 

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

But the real intrigue moment comes on the last page:

‘Patrick watched her tensely as she listened to what the man on the other end had to say. With an incredulous expression on her face she turned to Patrick and said, ‘They say that Anna killed Lucas.’

Then she dropped the phone. Patrick got there just in time to catch her before she hit the floor.’

What an end, right?

My luck was the fact that when I read this book, the next one in line, The Gallows Bird which is known as The Stranger as well, was already available in the libraries, so I didn’t have to wait for it to be written and published. Haha, lucky me. And I also had the feeling that the next book will have Anna on the front lines. 

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

I don’t want to be a spoiler with this book either so I hope that you will find my review good enough to capture your attention and go to the library and by the book. 

Rate:9/10

images1

Connect With Me: 

Goodreads , Instagram , Pinterest

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “#3 The Stonecutter, Camilla Lackberg

  1. Pingback: #7 The Lost Boy, by Camilla Lackberg – AwesomeBooksToday

  2. Pingback: #6 The Drowning, Camilla Lackberg – AwesomeBooksToday

  3. Pingback: #5 The Hidden Child, by Camilla Lackberg – AwesomeBooksToday

  4. Pingback: #4 The Gallows Bird/The Stranger, Camilla Lackberg – AwesomeBooksToday

  5. Pingback: Upcoming Reviews – AwesomeBooksToday

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s