#2. Eve: Once, by Anna Carey

Once-cover.jpg

Published: July 3rd, 2012

Pages: 354

Product details:

When you’re being hunted, who can you trust?

For the first time since she escaped from her school many months ago, Eve can sleep soundly. She’s living in Califia, a haven for women, protected from the terrifying fate that awaits orphaned girls in The New America. But her safety came at a price: She was forced to abandon Caleb, wounded and alone at the city gates. When Eve gets word that Caleb is in trouble, she sets out into the wild again to rescue him, only to be captured and brought to the City of Sand, the capital of The New America. Trapped inside the City walls, Eve uncovers a shocking secret about her past—and is forced to confront the harsh reality of her future.

!! Read the review for the first book in Eve Series here !!


Review:

I’ve read this book yesterday and to be honest, it let me down. I found it very boring and predictable.

After Eve is taken in Califia, she feels that her life is incomplete without Caleb. She worries about him and escaped from there too, trying to find him. She is captured by the King’s guards and taken to him where she learns that he is her father. 

Trapped in The City of Sand, Eve sees that Caleb is there too and they plan to escape together. Their plan is ruined, the book having a sad ending. ( I don’t want to be a spoiler so I will stop here with the events)

Everything seems to be interesting but in fact, the book failed to capture my full attention. Everything was so easy to predict that the end wasn’t at all a surprise for me. 

The King let me down also. I imagined him to be a strong man, rude, mean, difficult, someone whom everybody would be scared of. But in fact, he wasn’t like that. He was ordinary.

This time the love between Caleb and Eve felt real and beautiful. And to be honest, I have this feeling that in the next book, which I intend to read these days, she will be pregnant with Caleb’s child. I hope so! We’ll see.

I liked the ending and I hope that the next book and the last in Eve Series will be better!

Rate:6.5/10

images1

Connect With Me: 

Goodreads, Instagram, Pinterest

Don’t be stingy! Share it with everyone!

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

