What Book Made You Into a Reader?

Lovely Shayla from @disappearfromreality challenges me to write a post about What Book Made Me Into a Reader. So here I am, writing about it. 

I don’t have to think about it not even a second. It’s ‘The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo’ by Stieg Larsson. I read many books before this, but none of them made me feel like this book did. I remember that I was in high school, I was 16 years-old (if I remember right). I received this book as a gift from a friend and when I took it in my hand, checking the cover, I knew that this will be a special book for me. I know that we should not judge a book by its cover, and I didn’t (below is the cover for the edition that I read at that time – it was translated in Romanian), but what that cover made me feel at that moment, was more than just a judgment. Was like a message telling me that I just found the perfect book, the book that will make me see all the books with different eyes.  

barbati-care-urasc-femeile

At that time, I read the book in 2 or 3 days, I can’t remember exactly. Two years ago, I bought the book translated in English and I read it again, but this time slower than the first time, paying more attention to the details. 

You can imagine what was next after I read it for the first time, right? I gave a little search on the internet about the man who has given me such a joy, ending with me buying two new books, The Girl Who Played With Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest. 

I couldn’t believe what I was reading. It felt so good spending time with that series in my hand and when I found out that the Creator of such an awesomeness is dead, I felt disappointed. 

I don’t want to write about the fourth book in series, written by David Lagercrantz because I am sure that I will end up writing another review and that isn’t the point of this post. I will just say that this book, this Series actually, was like magic for me and made me a reader.

There are other good books that I love and I like to re-read from time to time, I have a favorite living writer (Camilla Lackberg) but Stieg Larsson is my favorite writer of all times. I love his life story and how he wrote the books. Check here to find out more information about it if you are interested. 

Thank you, Shayla, for tagging me. You made me remember about how this adventure began for me. You all should go and check her blog, it’s awesome, I promise!

Thank you all for stopping by and for reading this post! It is a pleasure writing my thoughts about my favorite books. 

I will tag some of the blogs that I follow, but if you feel that you wish to write a post like this, go ahead and do it. And tag me back so I can come and read it!

 

 

Connect With Me: 

Goodreads, Instagram, Pinterest, Facebook 

Don’t be stingy! Share it with everyone!

14 Comments

  1. Mine was Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone! It was a while ago… ☺
    If you want to read more, I talk about it on my new book club page!
    Ps. Great blog! I look forward to reading more of your reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mine was harry potter and the philosophers stone! If you want to read more. I talk about it on my book club page on my blog! Its only a new page but im slowy building on it.

    Like

  3. My return to reading — and ultimately launching full-bore into reviewing books, copy-editing for indie authors, and grasping back onto my dream of becoming an author — was catapulted from reading “Country Heaven” by author Ava Miles in October 2015.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I know the feeling. I write everyday, even if most of it is nonsense writing. I take it as an exercise and I am sure that someday I will have my first book ready to show it to the entire world. Haha . Keep writing and someday you will have your own book too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

