Book Review: #9 The Ice Child, by Camilla Lackberg

facetune-1

Swedish Title: Lejontämjaren

Publication Date: March 10th, 2016

Pages: 424

Description:

January, Fjällbacka. A semi-naked girl wanders through the woods in freezing cold weather. When she finally reaches the road, a car comes out of nowhere. It doesn’t manage to stop.
By the time Detective Patrik Hedström receives word of the accident, the girl has already been identified. Four months ago she disappeared on her way home from the local riding school, and no one has seen her since. It quickly becomes clear that she has been subjected to unimaginably brutal treatment. And it’s likely she’s not the only one.
Meanwhile, Patrik’s wife, crime writer Erica Falck, is looking into an old case – a family tragedy that led to a man’s death. His wife was convicted of murder, but Erica senses that something isn’t right. What is the woman hiding? As Erica digs deeper, the past starts to cast a shadow over the present and Patrik is forced to see his investigation in a whole new light.

Review:

I will start this review saying that this is my favorite book from Fjällbacka Series so far. I can’t wait for the tenth book, The Witch, to come out. I’m curious what she has prepared next for us. 

Until then, let’s do this review. The book starts with an almost naked girl who gets hit by a car and dies. She has no eyes and no hearing. She’s identified as Victoria, a girl who went missing four months ago. 

Obviously, Patrick leads the investigation while his wife, Erika, struggle with interviewing a woman who’s condemned to prison for murdering her husband. I won’t say more about the story itself, just that this time, Camilla nailed it. I mean, I loved each page of this book. The crime is so good in a horrific way. I love to go hunting thru her words, but this time, I had no idea about the true identity of the murderer. And adding to this the end of the book…?! It just blew my mind. And I loved it. 

I don’t know how she does this, but Camilla is so good at entertaining me. 

I love reading about each character’s life. How they live their lives, how they grow older. 

If you haven’t read this book yet, you have to! It’s a must!

She’s a queen and I fking love her work! 

Rate:10/10

facetune-2

Thank you for reading my review! And don’t forget: 

Read Awesomeness! Become Awesomeness!

Connect With Me: 

FacebookGoodreads,

Instagram, Pinterest

8 Comments

    1. I Thank you for that! I followed you as well and I just realized who you are!!! Omg! I have your book, The journey of Secrets on my To Be Read Lists. What were the chances?! I will postpone everything and start reading it right away! xx

      Like

    1. Omg!! I can’t believe this! Go there and buy it. You will enjoy each book as I did. I followed camilla on Instagram and she does this Instastories. I so wish to learn Swedish so I can understand everything she says. Haha. I would love to have at least one book signed by her xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

