Book review: Before I Go To Sleep, by S. J. Watson


Publication date: April 2011

Movie adaptation: September 2014

Pages: 359

Details

As I sleep, my mind will erase everything I did today. I will wake up tomorrow as I did this morning. Thinking I’m still a child, thinking I have a whole lifetime of choice ahead of me…

Memories define us. So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep? Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love–all forgotten overnight. And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story.

Welcome to Christine’s life. 


Review

I read this book two years ago andI loved it so much that I am thnking to re-read it. It was one of that psychological thrillers that just blow your mind before you will even know. 

The book is about a woman who wakes up every morning with no memory about her life. Every day, with her husband help, she pieces together her life, learning about the accident that changed her life. One day, a doctor pays a visit to her, advising her to keep a private journal in which ahe would write everything she learned or did that day. Every morning, that doctor will call to remind her abut the journal.

For me, reading this book was something new. I love good books and this is one of that books. It made me drown deep in each page. I read it while I was visiting my home country and I loved it so much that I carried everywhere with me. Even at restaurant. What a better time to read if not while waiting for your food to come? 

Christine’s character is so complex and interesting. While other people will say that the book gets a little bit repetitive around the middle with all that morning routine, I have to say that I enjoyed it. It helped me to understand Christine’s mind. And her life too. 

I also enjoyed the end was so good and twisted that I had to read it twice just to make sure that I understood it correctly. 

Maybe I am a little bit late with this review or maybe not, but if you haven’t read it yet, you have to make sure you do it ASAP. 

Rate:9/10

Connect With Me: 

FacebookGoodreads,

Instagram, Pinterest

8 Comments

Leave a Reply

