Mircea Eliade

Eliade

Mircea Eliade was a Romanian historian of religion, fiction writer, philosopher, and professor at the University of Chicago. He was born on March 13, 1907, in Bucharest, Romania, and died on April 22, 1986, in Chicago, Illinois, United States.

His literary works belong to the fantastic and autobiographical genres. Some of his best-known works are Maitreyi (“La Nuit Bengali” or “Bengal Nights”),  The Forbidden Forest (Noaptea de Sânziene), Isabel and the Devil’s Waters (Isabel și apele diavolului ), Novel of the Nearsighted Adolescent ( Romanul Adolescentului Miop ), Miss Christina (Domnișoara Christina), Youth Without Youth (Tinerețe fără tinerețe), and the short stories  The Secret of Dr. Honigberger (Secretul doctorului Honigberger) and With the Gypsy Girls (La Țigănci ).

I read Maitreyi when I was 15 years old and I fell in love with his work. I was so fascinated by that novel. A few months ago, I reorder it, the English translation of Maitreyi, called Bengal Nights, because I had only the Romanian translation and I wanted to see if there are some differences between this two translations. I will write a review about it one of these days. I promise!

IMG_6956

I also enjoyed his  Marriage in Heaven ( Nunta in cer), and Miss Christina which I intend to re-read. 

And if you haven’t read any of Eliade’s works, you need to do it, because he’s one of the best Romanian writers. 

Happy Birthday, Eliade, and Thank You for your Awesome Work!!

Thank you for reading my post! And don’t forget: 

Read Awesomeness! Become Awesomeness!

Connect With Me: 

FacebookGoodreads,

Instagram, Pinterest

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

