Book Review: The Husband’s Secret, By Liane Moriarty

img_9096

Publication Date: July 30, 2013

Pages: 464

Details: 

At the heart of The Husband’s Secret is a letter that’s not meant to be read

My darling Cecilia, if you’re reading this, then I’ve died…

Imagine that your husband wrote you a letter, to be opened after his death. Imagine, too, that the letter contains his deepest, darkest secret—something with the potential to destroy not just the life you built together, but the lives of others as well. Imagine, then, that you stumble across that letter while your husband is still very much alive. . . .
Cecilia Fitzpatrick has achieved it all—she’s an incredibly successful businesswoman, a pillar of her small community, and a devoted wife and mother. Her life is as orderly and spotless as her home. But that letter is about to change everything, and not just for her: Rachel and Tess barely know Cecilia—or each other—but they too are about to feel the earth-shattering repercussions of her husband’s secret.

Review: 

To be honest I don’t really know what to say about this book. I admit that I loved the first half of it, but I had a hard job finishing the second half. 

Is not a secret that I love mysteries and, on that part, this book let me down and I will tell you soon why. First I want to tell you more about the story. 

There are three main ladies, who deal with all sort of life problems, mainly because of their husbands. First one, and the main character is Cecilia who finds a letter from her husband, addressed to her which says to be opened only when he will be dead. The second woman will be Tess who just learned that her husband had fallen in love with her cousin. And the last one will be Rachel, a widow old lady who’s daughter, Janie, was murdered many years ago. 

While Tess moves in with her mother in order to process what her husband has just told her, and Rachel thinks every moment about her dead daughter, who’s murderer wasn’t found yet, Cecilia deals with the struggle of reading the letter or not. When her husband comes home earlier than expected, she decided to read it. And here where I lost the interest for the book. She finds the truth about her husband’s past and that’s how I made all the connections. 

But, what I do not understand is how John-Paul’s secret will change Tess life?? If you will read the book, you will understand what I mean. Except for her husband been late at her mother’s home, her life isn’t affected in any way. If I didn’t understand something, I will assume it, but until then, I will keep the idea that there is no connection between the secret and Tess. 

Even if I had a hard time with the second half, I didn’t give up and now I am glad I didn’t. I could make a better idea about each character of the book which, by the way, are awesome. I loved Cecilia’s character. She’s strong, devoted, a loving mother and a good friend. Tess and Rachel feel the same for me, two women, who suffer because of someone but who will keep their secrets no matter what. 

img_9287

The story itself is good. The background, the environment is interesting, and everything is well described. But I feel that something is missing in it. Something could have been better. I can’t really say what. Or maybe it’s just the fact that the book description is so interesting and it makes you expect to read a different book. 

I know that many people found this book very good and unputdownable, but I didn’t. That’s why my rate is so low. Sorry!

Rate: 6.5/10

img_9157

Rate: 8/10

Thank you for reading my post! And don’t forget: 

Read Awesomeness! Become Awesomeness!

Connect With Me: 

FacebookGoodreads,

Instagram, Pinterest,

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

