Book review: Jo Nesbo – The Bat #1Harry Hole

Original title: Flaggermusmannen (Norwegian)

Publication date: 1997

English translation date:  October 9th, 2012 

English translation by Don Bartlett

Pages: 369 pages

Description: 

Detective Harry Hole is meant to keep out of trouble. A young Norwegian girl taking a gap year in Sydney has been murdered, and Harry has been sent to Australia to assist in any way he can.

HE’S NOT SUPPOSED TO GET TOO INVOLVED.

When the team unearths a string of unsolved murders and disappearances, nothing will stop Harry from finding out the truth. The hunt for a serial killer is on, but the murderer will talk only to Harry.

HE MIGHT JUST BE THE NEXT VICTIM.

Review: 

I heard a lot of people saying that they read randomly all the book in Harry Hole’s series, most of them starting with books number three and four. I hate to do that, so I started with the first book in series, The Bat. And here comes the trick. I have so many mixed feeling for this book, that I don’t even know where to start. 

I guess I will say a few words about the book’s story and I will comment on it.  

The main character is a troubled detective named Harry Hole. He is sent to Australia in order to investigate the murder of a young Norwegian girl. 

In this book, Nesbo gives us many pieces of information about Harry’s background and also about the Australian life and history. I love when a book is more than just the murder and the hunt when there are lots of different information as this book has. I’ve learned a lot about Australia’s history. 

But, what I found hard to handle it(?!) is Harry’s drinking problems. I can’t quite tell you why, but I just can’t stand drunk people and I really had a hard time reading about it. I think that’s the reason why it took me around 5-6 months to read the second book in series. 

But I have to say that his character is well contoured, as well as all the others characters. 

I felt that Nesbo gave us a really good description of the landscape and details, but even so, I didn’t find this book so good. That’s why I gave such a low rating. 

 

Rate: 4.5/10

 

Thank you for reading my review! And don’t forget: 

Read Awesomeness! Become Awesomeness!

Connect With Me: 

FacebookGoodreads,

Instagram, Pinterest,

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

