Book Review: The Watcher – Eli Carros

the watcher

Publication date: 21st June 2017

Pre-order: here

Pages: 506

Description

One man must stop a psychopath in his tracks…

Chief Inspector Jack Grayson is hunting a serial killer terrorizing London, a stalker who watches his prey carefully and displays the bodies of his young female victims brazenly. But Grayson has a problem – only one lead and scant evidence – and the body count is rising.

He discovers that an unsolved 18-year-old murder case bears all the hallmarks of the current killings, but he still can’t seem to find a single, obvious suspect, and he is so far unable to outthink a master predator.

Grayson must catch a hunter who knows how to outwit the police – a showman intent on completing his macabre collection. But he’s missing a vital clue, a critical piece of the puzzle. When he finally discovers the killer’s identity, he’s completely unprepared for the fallout…

Review

First, I wish to thank you, Eli, for giving me the opportunity to read your book before it’s official publication. It has been a pleasure and I am looking forward to another collaboration between us in the future. I must say that you did a good job with your debut novel and I am sure that there will be many readers out there that would agree with me.

For all of my readers out there. Have you read anything about the serial killer known as The Zodiac? I am sure you did. Well, this book reminded me of him and in order for me to explain myself, I will give an insight about it. As you already saw in the description, a serial killer is terrorizing London’s streets. His MO is particularly interesting. He attacks blonde young girls, cutting their throats and leaving behind a necklace with their birthstone. Interesting, right?

The main character is Chief Inspector Jack Grayson, a middle-aged man who’s life will be affected by the killer’s case. The book is well written, with easy words and the background is very good described. I’ve read it in my free time at work and at night before sleep, and I have finished it in just two days. 

What I enjoyed the most was the fact that almost the entire book, Eli made me think that the killer was this character, but exactly when I was so sure about his identity, he snapped the twist and I felt like I was drowning. I knew nothing, and how I love when a reader does this to me.
But I am proud to tell you that at page 422 I was able to identify it by connecting all the dots.

I must say that all the names gave me a hard time. I am really bad at memorizing it and, from time to time, I had to stop for a moment to think about each character. I think that this is the only thing that didn’t appeal to me.

I am grateful that I had the opportunity to read this book and I recommend it to everyone. Is a really good debut novel and I am looking forward to reading the next one.

Ps: I love the book cover!!!

Rate: 8/10

Connect With Me: 

FacebookGoodreads,

Instagram, Pinterest,

One thought on “Book Review: The Watcher – Eli Carros

  1. Pingback: Eli Carros – Interview – The Watcher – AwesomeBooksToday

Leave a Reply

