Book review: Dirty Dad, by Davin Ravenwood

31370199

Publication date:  August 8th, 2016

Pages: 261

Description

Dirty Dad is a mystery novel set in 1985 about the wealthy Kempner family’s dirty dealings. After patriarch Jim Kempner, a Texas commercial real estate tycoon dies on vacation, oil slides to nine dollars a barrel and kills the family empire he’d built with his son, Mitch, putting thousands out of work. The situation worsens for Mitch and his employees when Jim’s will says that all assets will convert to cash and be put into a trust for his second wife, Laura, leaving Mitch with nothing. Slowly, the entire Kempner family begins to unravel underneath the weight of deceit and murder. Will Mitch, his older brother, and the women in their lives pull it together or lose everything?

Review

I wish to thank David Ravenwood for sending me his book. I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. 

To me, Dirty Dad was a different book. Or that’s what I felt. Usually, a book is about one big subject like revenge, dealing with a mean sibling, or how someone’s life has changed after losing the family’s business. Well, this book has everything. After his father’s death, Mitch Kempner learns that he has to sell his family business and all the properties, including his house, and give the money to his mother-in-law. And because of his brother, Tom, makes everything even worse is not enough, Mitch learns an awful truth about his father. From the fight for the money, trying to discover his father’s dark secret, love and to make things right, this book has everything. And that’s why I enjoyed it so much that I’ve finished it in just two days. I read it every time I had a few minutes for myself.

Another thing that I loved about it is that the writing is so easy. No hard words, no complicated sentences. The descriptions are very well made and each character is nice described. I must add the fact that I feel that the book is like a real story narrated by a person. Everything seems so real, the things move at a real life’s speed, nothing seems made up.

Also, I’ve learned a few more things about World War II and finances and economy. I love when there is something to learn about in a book.

So, if you want to read an easy, light and interesting book, Dirty Dad is exactly what you’re looking for. 

You can order it here.

Rate: 7/10


 Thank you for reading my review! And don’t forget:

Read Awesomeness! Become Awesomeness!

Connect With Me: 

FacebookGoodreads,

Instagram, Pinterest,

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

