Book Review: Disruption, By J. B. Jamison

Publication date: May, 2017

Pages: 380

Description: 

In the midnight darkness north of New Orleans, the towboat’s routine trip up the Mississippi River becomes something far more deadly. Captain Charlie Graff is suddenly thrust into the middle of one of the most twisted domestic terrorist plots ever conceived. He has to use his skill as Captain to protect his crew, his boat, his river, and his country. But he is not alone. On land, already overwhelmed FBI agent Emily Graham finds herself thrust into the role of leading the pursuit of the terrorists. Her journey leads to dead ends and dead witnesses. She discovers her trust in her team-members is wrong, the terrorists are not who they say they are, and that the people who actually initiated the attack don’t even exist. This tense, fast-paced thriller is a thousand mile journey with more twists and turns than the river that carries it. A story that begins and ends with betrayal. A betrayal that has but one goal: Disruption.

Review: 

First, I want to thank J. B. Jamison for sending me his book in return for an honest review. When I read the book description, I was hooked up by the fact that the action takes place in New Orleans and its surroundings. When I pick up a book, I do it not only because of the story itself but because of many other reasons. For example, now because of the New Orleans (I love that town even though I’ve never visited it); I chose Forgotten Reflection, by Young-Im Lee because of the Korean’s history. So, yes, a book is much more than just the storyline. 

When I started this book I had the feeling that I am reading the postscript for an action movie, which I enjoyed more than I would expect me to. Charlie Graff is captain on a towboat. A group of people takes control of his boat, threatening them that if they won’t do what they ask them to, will kill their families. While captain Charlie and his crew try to take back the control over the boat, FBI agent Emily Graham is in charge of stopping the boat and saving all the innocent people trapped in this dispute. 

What I loved the most about this book is the fact that is a page-turning. Every time I put it down, I thought about it for a moment and about what will happen next. Also, I never guessed the ending and the outcome. 

But, I must say that there was a thing that drove me nuts. The lack of descriptions for each character. I couldn’t picture any of the characters. I created my own description for most of the characters because I couldn’t picture them, psychically, as the writer saw them.

If you aren’t decided yet if you want to read this book or not, you can read the first chapter on Jamison’s website.  

I had a great time with Disruption and I look forward reading a next book written by J. B Jamison. 

Rate: Stars 4/5

 

Thank you for reading my review! And don’t forget:

Read Awesomeness! Become Awesomeness!

Connect With Me: 

FacebookGoodreads,

Instagram, Pinterest,

2 Comments

  1. Thank you Giorgiana. I’m betting that your imagination created far better descriptions of the characters than I ever could, and that’s why I left room for it to play too.
    J.B.

    Like

Leave a Reply

